Electricity and Fire

Since all the electricity on Koh Phangan went out

because of the lightning and storm we had yesterday,

unfortunatly the internet stopped working as well.

 

So.... there I sat in the dark. What could I do now?

Nothing, absolutely nothing!

Wow, we humans are really depended on electricity.

That was my thought.

What if we were 100 years back in time right now?

Just sit and wait it out?

 

I mean, at home we sit in our appartment and whine,

watch a movie or tv and drink a cup of coffee while it's raining outside...

and whine a little bit more because it's raining. (always this whining)

Also because we are lucky to HAVE electricity where I live.

But here? BLACK! Darkness!

And no one was whining.....

 

I sat in the door to the reception on a chair and just looked out on the rain and lightning.

A dog came up to me and sat down beside me, trying to hide from the rain.

It was poring down, you couldn't see further then couple of meters away.

Total darkness. I saw some torches and flashlights.

The family that owns the building I live in were ready to leave.

They said that the electricity wouldn't come back.

What about me then? I have no light or candles in my room.

 

There were a german girl who left her raincoat on the bike,

had no lights on the bike and no flashlight

except from her phone (just like me).

So I went upstairs and I gave her my raincoat.

I will not bring it back home to Sweden anyway.

There, I made her evening a little bit better.

And mine as well because she was happy and that was all that mattered to me.

She wanted to give me money but I insisted

that she should just take it and said NO to the money!

 

Anyway, I got a oil torch from the family.

It smelled like gasoline.

That strong smell that my nose can recognize from miles away.

They said not to worry, it's just oil.

But I don't trust the Thai's when it comes to that really.

They mix all kind of weird stuff.

And they didn't know that the smell brought up traumatic pictures in my head.

I smelled it again, and again, and again... The smell was everywhere.

In a short moment I got a flashback.

In my head I was back at the hospital, under the zink of ice cold water.

Shivering and full of pain. Then I was back in real life again.

I putted the torch somewhere safe.

Went in to the bathroom to take a shower but I could still smell it.

I was thinking about the torch and suddenly there were a big noise.

Like something exploaded in the room, or something very very heavy fell down.

But there was nothing. Everything was on the same place, all plugs were safe

and the torch was safe and haven't moved a bit. Paranoid?

But slowly I took it out and putted it outside the door instead.

It felt more safe for me to have it there in some way.

One thing is for sure. I am very careful with fire nowdays.

And I learned a lesson not to play with it, ever again.

It's not easy to be a pyromaniac you know...

 

 

Yes, it's me. 1999.

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0